Ego

I was that child –
no sparkle in her eyes
no wagging tongue speaking
– instead, I listened –
– watched carefully –
adapting observations to parts of me
fortifying my psyche

I can’t get to the point
I’d choose to cross-over
for Father knows best
what to think
to consider
& what to test
blissfully stroking my ego

*
You were beyond approach
not ready to listen
& I had a car waiting
to whisk me away

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

