Yesterdays’ Blues / Old News

If you could care more than a little…
but don’t get too close too soon
The tables are turning still…
bit by little bit
I’m travelling in a fog…
but I can still see the Sun
Good Lord – whatever have I done…
but what else could I have done
to save face against the storm
of collective attrition
. . .
I’ve been feeding on yesterdays’ leftovers
… no time allotted to cook a healthier fare
Lush greenery, both to left & right in sight
… Old Man Winter passed us by this year
I breathe more easily with each passing day
… and in all I’m saying, I miss you some
I’ve got a mean streak behind placid exterior
… but just a little less toxic for wear & tear

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

