The Twisted Magician -by Robert Gardner

I’m a Scientist now! So give me a raise!
Stand back or I might put an end to your days,
Or alter your tiny allotment of wills
With my very impressive collection of skills –
Should I turn every human to chicken-fried mush?
Or turn all your confidence into mistrust?
Or ethics and love to molecular code?
Or hamburger paddies to pie Allah-mode?
Or a ‘she’ to a ‘he’ and a ‘he’ to a ‘hen’?
Or a ‘what’ to a ‘who’ and a ‘where’ to a ‘when’?
Or freedom to slavery and slavery to joy?
Or conjure a virus you cannot destroy?
Or turn your assumptions to bubbling foam?
Or foam into mountains of passionless stone?
Or savor the finest vodka with you
And then turn a belt buckle into a shoe? –
And according to Chance it must be true
That Science is something I’m able to do,
And isn’t she always beautiful, too –
A Beacon of Progress,
An Ultimate Light,
As long as your gas mask still fits tight?

*

Copyright 2017 Robert Gardner

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

