Been Around the Block & Back Again

The fires of desire burn brightly
rivaling the light of stars on a clear night
beauty in the eye of the beholder

*

The color guard marches
then stands at attention – when I was 9
as the casket was lowered into the ground

*

I had to rough it in the work-a-day world
moving from office to office within the organization
for a better fit,
burdened with my diseased brain,
dealing with some bitches & bastards of foul play
with so many more so supportive
as luck would have it, trying to hold down a job
where I could make a difference
and advance to the finish line
when I’d had enough, tested well beyond my limits,
pressured into early retirement

And what a delightful difference a day makes
after struggling for so many years
to put a cap on my distress

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

