“Bio”… The Devil’s Den

Remembering when,
I was housed in the devil’s den –
The year was 1982
and all I had left
were the clothes on my back
a song in my heart
and opportunity
for a brand new start

Hospital food
was hard on the palate –
I was provided paper & pencil
with which to draw
and I arranged mosaics
as occupational therapy

There were days I would sit
and stare at the floor –
contemplating my fate
as a result of mistakes
making no friends
but the attendants
‘til my mother found me
and rescued me –

granting that opportunity
I so desired
and sorely needed

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

