The Serious Writer’s Credo -by Robert Gardner

I interrogate my question marks and brow beat every comma,
Arrest extended metaphors and mail them to ‘Yo Mama’,
I torture half my pronouns or I teach them how to dance,
Then threaten verbs and adjectives or put them in a trance,
Then prosecute my old ideas if they refuse to fit,
And won’t suppress the tendency to give me only wit,
Or slap my weeping paragraphs and kick their knees for fun,
Then chain them all to canyon walls in the Arizona sun,
Then boldly tase my title page (I tase it to the core),
If no one in my book will mind The General Knowledge Store –
So words, you’d better sit up straight and only say what’s nice,
Or I will get my cattle prod and shock you maybe twice,
And beat you semi-senseless on a writer’s Moonless night’.

Author: Emma Beane

"My history is still one of those mysteries I struggle with every day..." - [ebeane] ... All original works Copyright Emma Beane

Leave a Reply

